Follow Us On

Our Key Projects

Redes En Acción

National network to reduce Latino Cancer.

Exito! Research Training

Training and internships to increase Latino doctors and cancer researchers.

Salud America!

National network to inspire healthy community change for Latino and all families.

 

Staff

 

Rosalie Aguilar
Project Coordinator
IHPR at UT Health San Antonio
aguilarr2@uthscsa.edu

Aguilar is project coordinator Salud America! , which fuels its network of 200,000+ parents, school personnel, community leaders, and decision-makers to start and support healthy changes for Latino children and families across the nation.

Jessica Gutierrez
Executive Assistant
IHPR at UT Health San Antonio
gutierrezj4@uthscsa.edu

Gutierrez assists in daily administrative needs at the IHPR. She was previously an accounting coordinator with the Office for Academic, Faculty, and Student Affairs at the Health Science Center, and has worked in many other administrative and clerical roles.

Stacy Cantu, MPH
Research Area Specialist
IHPR at UT Health San Antonio
cantus1@uthscsa.edu

Cantu, who joined the IHPR in 2018, is a research area specialist for the IHPR. She curates Latino health equity content, including news, research, success stories, and helpful resources, for the IHPR's Salud America! program.

 

Rick Carrillo
Video Producer/Director
IHPR at UT Health San Antonio
CarrilloJE@uthscsa.edu

Carrillo produces and directs video and multimedia content across the IHPR, including Salud America! The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Research Network to Prevent Obesity Among Latino Children. He also has robust skills in photography, project management, and all aspects of video production.

 

Cliff Despres, BJ
Communications Director
IHPR at UT Health San Antonio
despres@uthscsa.edu

Despres, who has more than a decade of experience in journalism, coordinates the IHPR’s multimedia communications—managing, planning and organizing online publications and interaction among researchers, mass media and the public.

Daisy Escamilla, MS
Research Area Specialist
IHPR at UT Health San Antonio
EscamillaD3@uthscsa.edu

Escamilla is a public health researcher at the IHPR who assists with the Health4Kids intervention trial under the direction of Dr. Deborah Parra-Medina.

Andrea Fernandez, MPH
research Coordinator
IHPR at UT Health San Antonio
fernandezaa@uthscsa.edu

Fernandez helps coordinate and implement research projects at the IHPR, including it's Quitxt text-message and Facebook Messenger-based quit smoking program for young adults in South Texas.

 

Armida Flores, CHW
Health Educator
IHPR at UT Health San Antonio
Floresa8@uthscsa.edu

Flores serves as an IHPR community health worker (CHW), a role that includes work as a patient navigator and promotora on various outreach projects. She helps cancer survivors navigate the complex health care system, get emotional support, and access needed services.

 

Tracy Day
Accounting
IHPR at UT Health San Antonio
dayt1@uthscsa.edu

Day joined the IHPR in 2018 and performs a variety of accounting and project budget management tasks.

Molly Doris
Research Assistant
IHPR at UT Health San Antonio
doris@uthscsa.edu

Doris is a research assistant at the IHPR.

 

Sandra J. Griffith, BS
Project Coordinator
IHPR at UT Health San Antonio
griffiths3@uthscsa.edu

Griffith provides oversight for grant management, reporting and submissions, as well as fiscal-year budget planning at the IHPR. Her work experience includes project management at USAA Federal Savings Bank and Baylor College of Medicine.

Heidi Isales
Assistant
IHPR at UT Health San Antonio
Isales@uthscsa.edu

Isales supports the IHPR in many administrative functions.

 

Sarai Llamas
Research Area Specialist
IHPR at UT Health San Antonio
llamass@uthscsa.edu

Llamas is a research area specialist supporting IHPR research projects.

 

Amanda Merck, MPH
Research Area Specialist
IHPR at UT Health San Antonio
Merck@uthscsa.edu

Merck, who joined the IHPR in 2015, is a research area specialist for the IHPR. She curates Latino health equity content, including news, research, success stories, and helpful resources, for the IHPR's Salud America! program.

 

Edgar Munoz, MS
Statistician
IHPR at UT Health San Antonio
munoze@uthscsa.edu

Munoz is a statistician who supports IHPR researchers by helping develop research protocols, conduct analyses, identify and use available methodologies and databases, and prepare reports. He has prior work experience as a statistician in Colombia.

Sneha Prabhu, MPH
Research Coordinator
IHPR at UT Health San Antonio
prabhus@uthscsa.edu

Sneha helps coordinate several projects at the IHPR, including the "Advancing ther Science of Cancer in Latinos" conference and screen-to-save colorectal cancer initiatives.

 

Arely Perez, MS
Project Coordinator
IHPR at UT Health San Antonio
PerezA20@uthscsa.edu

Perez is project coordinator for the IHPR's Éxito! Latino Cancer Research Leadership Training program, which offers an annual summer institute and annual internship opportunities to increase the number of Latinos who pursue doctoral degrees and cancer research.

Rebecca Vega, BA
Accountant
IHPR at UT Health San Antonio
vegarg@uthscsa.edu

Vega serves as lead accountant at the IHPR, performing a variety of budgeting tasks, including reviews and reconciles monthly ledger accounts and subaccounts, as well as assisting in reviewing and reporting grants at the IHPR.

Pramod Sukumaran, PhD
Research Area Specialist
IHPR at UT Health San Antonio
sukumaran@uthscsa.edu

Sukumaran, who joined the IHPR in 2018, is a research area specialist for the IHPR. He curates Latino childhood obesity content, including news, research, success stories, and helpful resources, for the IHPR's Salud America! program.